Driving Safety Course
Am I Eligible?
A defendant charged with a moving traffic violation under the state law, may be eligible to take a driving safety course in order to have the ticket dismissed, and not appear on the permanent driving record. If a ticket is dismissed under this provision, it will not appear as a conviction on the driving record and according to state law, should not affect insurance premiums.
In order to take a driving safety course, a defendant must first have permission of the court to do so. To determine eligibility, a driving safety course must not have been taken 12 months before the date of the citation. It is the defendant’s responsibility to determine if he is eligible to take a course. If the violation was an accident, you will need to request permission for the driving safety course from the Prosecutor in person on your scheduled court date.
If eligibility is determined, the defendant must:
- Enter a plea of no contest or guilty
- Pay applicable state court costs and administrative fees
- Present a valid Texas driver’s license (not expired)
- Present valid insurance with the defendant’s name on the policy (not expired)
- Sign the Driving Safety Course affidavit in front of a notary public
Not Eligible Violations
Not all offenses under the Texas Transportation Code are subject to dismissal upon completion of a driving safety course. A driver will not be eligible to have a charge dismissed by completing a driving safety course if:
- The alleged moving violation has occurred in a construction zone with workers present
- The alleged speed is 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit
- The alleged violation is passing a school bus while loading or unloading students
- The driver holds a commercial driver’s license
Juvenile defendants 16 years of age or younger must make a formal court appearance in front of a judge with a parent or legal guardian in order to request permission to take a driving safety course.
How to Request a Driving Safety Course
The following documentation is required in order to request a driving safety course online:
- Insurance card showing defendant’s name as a covered driver on the policy (not expired)
- Defendant’s valid Texas Driver’s License (no CDLs) (not expired)
- Signed and notarized affidavit (print copy.) Any affidavit uploaded online not notarized will not be accepted by the Judge.
The insurance card and driver’s license are required to be scanned and uploaded while on the website. The affidavit requesting the course will be required to print, notarize, sign, scan and load.
Access our court payments website to initiate the request.
Defendants other than juveniles may request permission to take a driving safety course between the hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, on or before your scheduled court date. Defendants MUST present the following at the time of request along with payment of court costs:
- Insurance card showing defendant’s name as a covered driver on the policy
- Defendant’s valid Texas Driver’s License (no CDLs)
If the request is not made by the court date the defendant may lose the option to take the course. If you have reset, you must request the driving safety course on your reset court date in person only.
To request permission to take a driving safety course through the mail you MUST submit the following:
- A copy of insurance card with defendant’s name on policy (not original) (not expired)
- A copy of valid Texas driver’s license (not expired)
- Signed and notarized affidavit (print copy.) Any affidavit mailed in to the Court that is not notarized, will not be accepted by the Judge.
Applicable state court costs and administrative fees are $114 or $139 if the offense is in a school zone. The receipt, an application for a driving record, and the deadline for taking class and turning in documents will be returned to the address on the citation of a new address if you provided one.
The original certificate of completion from the course and the defendant’s driving record (type 3A) must be submitted together to the court in person, by mail or drop box by the due date provided on driving safety order. Failure to take the course and turn in the documents by the due date may result in a conviction being entered and payment of the remaining balance becoming due. The Court’s address is 5432 Franz Road., Katy, TX 77493. The drop box is located next to the front doors of the Court.
The driving record may also be ordered online from Licensee Driver Records.
These new links below now provide e-filing with the Katy Municipal after you have already requested permission from the court to take the Driving Safety Course and the Court granting it. You can request the Driving Safety Course with any company of your choice as long as they are certified by the Texas Education Agency.
https://www.expresslanedefensivedriving.com/ Support Office is (855) 366-1814
- COMEDY DRIVING:
https://www.comedydriving.com/ Customer Service (866)357-2020
- COMEDY DEFENSIVE DRIVING:
https://comedydefensivedriving.com/texas Customer Service (972)573-2700